PPM Express Help Center

What do you need help with?

    Sorry, we didn't find any relevant articles for you.

    Send us your queries using the form below and we will get back to you with a solution.

    Auto-calculation logic

    In this article we will review the auto-calculation logic of Project/Portfolio statuses. 

    Auto-calculation of Project/Portfolio statuses is available for users with Enterprise license type only.


    Auto-calculation of Project/Portfolio statuses is activated by your request. To activate it, please send the corresponding request to us at sales@ppm.express

    To access auto-calculation settings open the gear button and select Insights Settings

    Please note: The Insights Settings are available for users with Administrate app permissions only. 

    Auto-calculation of Project/Portfolio statuses is disabled by default, it should be enabled by PPM Express administrator.

    Also, the manual modification of auto calculated statuses is allowed by default. If you would like to have the statuses calculated automatically only, toggle the Modify Statuses Manually setting to Off. 

    Please note: Auto-calculation is performed for active projects/portfolios only. 'Not started' and 'On hold' projects/portfolios are not included in auto-calculation. 

    If the Project/Portfolio is completed all statuses will be set to 'Done'. 

    Also, only active project/portfolio items are taken into account for auto-calculation. If the key date/task/issue/risk/etc. is completed, it is not taken into account for auto-calculation. 

    If the Modify Statuses Manually setting is on, users can override the automatically calculated status and set the required status manually, and select the period of time for which the status set manually will be set. After this period of time (3, 5, 7, 10 days) the status set manually will be overridden by the status calculated automatically. 

    To override the status within your project/portfolio for a certain period of time perform the following: 

    1. Open the required project/portfolio.

    2. Click on the status you need to set manually and override auto-calculation for a certain period of time. 

    3. Click on the Override status button. 

    4. In the window that is opened select the required status, select the override duration (3,5,7,10 days).

    5. Click the Update Status button. 

    Project Status Calculation and Portfolios Status Calculation PPM Insights settings are used to set the threshold maximum and minimum values to measure the degree that will accept a certain risk or not, during the auto-calculation of Project Statuses. 

     

    Default values are set for both sections taking into account the following: 

    • If the ratio of late/overdue/overrun items to the total number is less than the minimum threshold then your project/portfolio is on track;
    • If the ratio of late/overdue/overrun items to the total number is between the minimum and minimum threshold then your project/portfolio is at-risk;
    • If the ratio of late/overdue/overrun items to the total number is more than the maximum threshold then your project/portfolio is critical. 

    You can reset the minimum and maximum threshold according to your needs. 

    Efforts and Duration settings are set for the Projects imported from or linked to Project Online. 

    Overall Project Status is calculated taking into account all other project statuses. 

    Risks Status is calculated taking into account active risks (from the Risks project section) that have a due date set up. Overdue Risks are divided by the total number of all active risks. After that, the status is populated according to the threshold settings (Overdue Risks Thresholds). 

    Issues Status is calculated taking into account active issues (from the Issues project section) that have a due date set up. Overdue Issues are divided by the total number of all active issues. After that, the status is populated according to the threshold settings (Overdue Issues Thresholds). 

    Resources Status is calculated taking into account all active tasks with assignments (internal and imported from external systems) from the Schedule and Team project sections. Overdue tasks with assignments are divided by the total number of all active tasks with assignments. After that, the status is populated according to the threshold settings (Resources with Late Tasks Thresholds). 

    Cost Status is calculated taking into account the numbers from the grid of the Budget project section. The formula is the following: (Planned Cost- Baseline Cost) / Baseline Cost and/or (Actual Cost - Planned Cost) / Planned Cost. After that, the status is populated according to the threshold settings (Cost Overrun Thresholds).

    Schedule Status is calculated taking into account all active Tasks and Key Dates (internal and imported from external systems). Overdue Tasks and Key Dates are divided by the total number of all active Tasks and Key Dates. After that, the status is populated according to the threshold settings (Late Tasks, Late Key Dates Thresholds). 

    Project statuses are recalculated automatically once a day. When you set the threshold as required, it is necessary to select the synchronization time for the daily status recalculation. 

    For this purpose, open the Data Synchronization from the gear button. 

    In the Summary Notification Settings section => Daily notification schedule select the days and time when the status recalculation will take place.   

    Click Save

    Please note: If the day and time are not set in the Daily notification schedule, auto-calculation of project/portfolio statuses will not be performed. 

    If the auto-calculation of Project Statuses is on, each Project/Portfolio Manager can still decide to disable this feature per project/portfolio and set the statuses manually. 

    To turn the auto-calculation of statuses per project/portfolio, perform the following: 

    1. Open the required project/portfolio. Click on the ... icon on the left upper corner of the Project Dashboard.

    2. Navigate to the Calculated Automatically option and deselect the statuses that you do not need to be calculated automatically. 

    Please note: To disable the auto-calculation option a user should have permission to edit the selected project/portfolio. 

     



    Was this article helpful?

    Table of contents

      Still can't find what you're looking for?

      Contact Support
      Back To Top